Sara’s Fat Blasting Hour with TRX

Us fitness folk have all seen the yellow cables in the gym – but have any of you had the balls to try it? What exactly is TRX? When I was at ACSM in San Francisco last week, I was on a mission to find out…

TRX Suspension Training requires the use of the TRX® Suspension Trainer™, a highly portable performance training tool that leverages gravity and the user’s bodyweight to enable hundreds of exercises that can be instantly scaled for any user to reach any fitness or training goal. The easily scalable nature of TRX Suspension Training makes it a practical solution wherever you are on the fitness continuum.

This was the class I took at TRX Training Studio in San Fran:

In VERY simple terms, they are cables suspended from a frame, which you can use to perform countless body weight exercises. Sounds like a piece of cake, right? Try it and then tell me that. This 55 minute fast paced class combined strength training and cardio – (that is what circuit training is, after all :))

We started the class by doing a “light” warm up – high knees, jumping jacks, mountain climbers, etc. After the warm up, I could already tell this class would be right up my alley. However, I was not prepared for the hell I was about to endure (in the best possible way).

We did 3 sets of 20 reps of each exercise. At the end of each set my muscles were so exhausted I could barely move, and this is coming from someone who strength trains regularly. After each rotation, I was so glad to move on and work a different muscle group. Unfortunately but fortunately, every exercise worked core, legs and arms! The movements were unlike anything I’ve ever experienced at a traditional gym, which is why it was so intense.

Here are some examples:

In this position we could do chest press, row and even tricep extensions. The further forward the angle, the higher the intensity. For beginners they recommended stepping one leg forward:

In this position we did front and side planks, followed by hip raises:

This one was my fave… THE PIKE. I felt like I was in turbo-charged yoga. Only this combines strength, flexibility, balance and cardio! Can you imagine doing this 60 TIMES?!

Honestly, we did so many new things in class this blog review would be 50 pages for me to describe each exercise! When class ended I could hardly move, but felt AMAZING. So amazing, I signed up for another 2 classes and took it the next morning  and evening (which was equally awesome!) I have to admit – TRX is much more intense than I could have imagined. You have to try it to see for yourself. And you can even travel with these things!

 -Sara

About Sweaty Girl Confessions

Two 20-something versatile bloggers, who discuss the hilariously sexy SWEATY truth!

Posted on June 11, 2012, in Sweaty by Day and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

