JUICE FAST CONFESSIONS – DAY 1 of 5

I’ve done a handful of juice fasts in my day. The thing that keeps me coming back for more is waking up with TONS of energy, which is HUGE for me… mornings and I don’t get along. Plus feeling detoxified, fresh and clean after a bout of poor eating choices.

This beautiful Monday morning is the beginning of my weeklong juice fast. Can I do it? Will I cave? My hope is by sharing this experience with you lovely readers, you can hold me accountable. First, LET’S BACK UP A FEW STEPS….. WHY am I doing this?

Six months ago the movie Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead inspired my husband and I to incorporate more fruits and veggies into our diet. But let’s be real here – eating 5-10 serving a day isn’t easy! But when you are drinking them, you can get several servings in one delicious, cold glass.

John (my husband) is one of the “manliest” eaters in the world – a total meat and more meat kinda guy. The fact that HE enjoys juicing is hugely motivating for me, because it’s something we can do together! Juicing for 1 meal a day is very doable in everyday life. But the best way for me to kick that habit off is by immersing myself in nothing but that habit for as long as possible.

Juice fasts aren’t easy. They take PRACTICE. It is a purely mental challenge, and tests your willpower. The first time you try it I recomend only replacing 1-2 meals a day with juice. Build up, as your confidence does.

The great thing about juicing rather than traditional fasting, is that you are getting in TONS of nutrients and not starving. Fruit and veggies ARE food, you are just drinking them. It is still testing though, because I LOVE to eat. My rule of thumb is if I am about to break, is to “cheat” with a fruit or veggie. It’s not even cheating but allows you to EAT.

If you haven’t already, I would reccomend watching Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead for some inspiration yourself. These past few weeks I’ve been eating out, drinking (something I usually limit more), and just FEEL plain unhealthy. I stocked up on my favorite fruits and veggies yesterday, and am ready to hit this out of the park!

I’m attending a convention next week for fitness guru’s, and I am not feeling my best. Facing body builders is def added motivation to kick off a few pounds of water weight and to get energized 🙂

WISH ME LUCK!!!

❤ Sara

Posted on June 25, 2012, in I Confess... and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Tried a juice fast once with a friend, lasted 4 days before I quit. Don’t know how you do it..

    Good luck!

  2. Thanks! 4 days is REALLY good! I’ve never gone to 5 days before, but I will do my best 🙂

  3. Good luck, I love food too much so have my 4 – 6 meals a day

  4. Thanks! I love food a little TOO much 🙂

  1. Pingback: IS JUICE FASTING WORTH IT? MY VERDICT IS IN! « Sweaty Girl Confessions

Leave a Reply

