I’M LOSING MY JOB

And so is Lindsay. We got the news on Monday and are still trying to absorb it.

Photo Cred

Our company is moving to New Jersey from Seattle, and we have 2 choices: move in September and keep our jobs, or stay and lose our jobs at the end of the year.

I was pretty devastated when I heard. I’ve worked so hard to get where I’m at. I do trade marketing and event planning for a fitness/wellness company. I travel around North America, meeting amazing people, talking about wellness with like minded individuals, and do all the behind the scenes coordination, setup and tear down. I finally have a job I adore, love ALL of my coworkers, and life has thrown an unexpected curve ball here.

I don’t want to live in a Podunk city in NJ. I have a house, husband with a good career and most of my social network here in Seattle. I’m so terrified because I’ve only been doing this career for 6 months. That’s not enough experience to find an equally awesome job. I started at the bottom with this company and paid my dues already. My plan was to do this job as long as possible (5+ years!) It’s going to suck to take a pay cut and take a step down for a company I might not be passionate about.

This news is still so fresh, I haven’t been able to think about any positives here. I’m just selfishly so worried about my future. Lindsay is figuring her situation out too. She’s been an executive assistant/travel coordinator for 3 months with this company and doesn’t want to start over somewhere else too. We don’t want to become servers again!!! We went to college for a reason!

Life is not fair!!! Excuse me on this pity party. P.S. right after I got the news I had to hop a plane to San Diego for an event (where I’m at now), and next week I have an event in Las Vegas. It’s going to be hard pretending like everything’s Kosher… I just want to be with my coworkers and see how everyone else is doing.

-Sara

Posted on July 4, 2012, in I Confess... and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Why is there no dislike button? The practical side of losing a job is hard enough but when it is a job you love it’s even worse. I hope it works out for you both

  2. I’m sorry to hear that. I hope you girls can work it out.

  3. I hope you two get through this..

  4. Erin @ Happier, Healthier, More Fit Me

    Sorry to hear such crappy news. You are strong, you will sort it out, and make the best of it. Great things will come your way! Believe.

  5. Sorry to hear but I’m confident you will get through this.

  6. Sorry to hear that. Remember when one door closes another opens.

  1. Pingback: THE 5 STAGES OF GRIEF OVER LOSING YOUR JOB « Sweaty Girl Confessions

Leave a Reply

